“E” is for Ego

 

E is for Ego

My Ego is on full alert. She knows I’m writing about her and wonders what I will say. She reminds me, “All I ever wanted was to be loved, to be accepted, to be heard – is that too much to ask?” she whimpers.

She’s being a bit dramatic at the moment and I know that. I can see her in a way I couldn’t before I began my spiritual journey. I wasn’t even aware of her presence back then.  She reminds me that she serves a vital purpose in this human experience, “Yes, of course, dear,” I reply.  The Ego requires so much affirmation!

But seriously, our Egos exist in our mind and help us to narrate and make sense of the world around us. Sadly, they’re more interested in being right and making others wrong. The stronger your Ego grows, the more likely you are to see everyone else as “the problem”. The Ego can’t see itself. It is only when you are in a state of awareness, that you can pull back, and watch the ego.

If you want to see how powerful your Ego is, try performing a random act of kindness and don’t tell anyone. How long can you keep the secret that you did something nice for someone when no one was watching? Your Ego says, “Wait a minute, I should get some credit for that – hey, over here, look at me, being generous.” 

Here’s a secret – there is one place where the ego has no power. Can you guess? That’s right – it’s right here, right now – in the present moment. So if you need a break from your drama-driven ego, center yourself and become present.

Now, go give yourself a hug and have a great day!

~ Namaste

6 thoughts on ““E” is for Ego

  1. Your analysis is very revealing, Dearie. The internal conversations between the two of you is a mockingly sweet version of Gollum/Smeagol.
    I love it!

    Sir Leprechaunrabbit
    @leprchaunrabbit
    yourrootsareshowingdearie.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Mirror of Judgment as a Spiritual Practice | An Artist's Path

Share your thoughts

