“I” is for Imagination

I is for Imagination

I created an ink of the Seattle Skyline last year when my grandkids came to visit.  They each painted their own skyline to take home and show their parents. My Seattle Every year when they visit, I choose a theme for the week – my imagination goes into overdrive! We’ve been on scavenger hunts, bike rides, melted crayons on canvas, painted critters on rocks, designed henna tattoos, hiked through the cascades, and created art journals.

Recently, the focus was on poetry in the park.  We packed a picnic and rode our bikes down to the river and they took turns reading the poetry of Mattie Stepanek from his book, “Heartsongs”.  In the back of Mattie’s book, he encourages you to write your own heart songs – tap into your own imagination.  Heart Songs by Mattie

Before we left for our picnic I had them watch a short YouTube video about Mattie so they would have a better understanding of this young boy and his journey.  They both teared up as they watched. I’ll share the link here in case you’re curious.  During his short life, Mattie taught us that we all have a song in our heart, we all have our gifts. It’s our job to find our gifts and then share them with the world. Mattie’s vivid imagination is evident in his poetry. Mattie’s poetry was his gift to the world.

Our imagination allows us to dream, to wonder, to create.

So tap into your imagination and if you’re in need of a some inspiration click here.

~ Namaste

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““I” is for Imagination

Share your thoughts

