“M” is for Mystic

Mystic w crystal ball editMy calling card reads, “Artist, Writer, Mystic.” I get a lot of curious looks at the term ‘Mystic’, especially coming from a straight-laced career in human resources. My Christian friends fear I have lost my way – I assure them I have not. I am reminded of the phrase:

“Not all who wander are lost.”

I am curious by nature – I’m a seeker, a Christian, a Buddhist, a Taoist, – a lover of humanity and the magic of this human experience.

My friends continue with their “snarkasm”,  “Oh, so now you’re a fortune teller!”

“Well, no,” I respond, “but sometimes I read ‘runes’ to access my inner knowledge. ” To which I get a chuckle and the eye roll.  So, rather than rattle off a long explanation on Mysticism, I refer them to the quote on the back of my calling card. It reads:

“It is as though you have an eye that sees all things but does not see itself. This is how your mind is. Its light penetrates everywhere and engulfs everything. So why does it not know itself?

~ Foyan

It’s usually at this point that they either smile and walk away or ask 101 questions, depending on their comfort level. I’m more than happy to share my experience on the spiritual path – it’s one of the reasons I chose a spiritual theme for the A to Z Challenge.

As for Mystic or Mystical, there are varying definitions. I like this one, “inspiring a sense of spiritual mystery, awe, and fascination.” I am easily fascinated by the mystery and magic of our world. We are surrounded by it.  Miracles and magic are found in all the major religions and science is still unraveling the elegance of our universe and the human condition.

As Mystics go, I have a favorite – let me leave you with a quote from the great Sufi Mystic Rumi

“I will soothe you and heal you,
I will bring you roses.
I too have been covered with thorns.”
~ Rumi

~ Namaste

13 thoughts on ““M” is for Mystic

  1. Well said. The many mystics in Christianity have included those accepting of ancient beliefs and the study of Eastern religion and philosophy — my personal fav is Thomas Merton. It seems most of them were and are ridiculed and criticized by establishment conservative followers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is always fear of the unknown. But what surprises me is that people hold on the the beliefs that they learnt when they are young and refuse to be open to other way of life. I can relate to you, born a Hindu I have always been a seeker. My belief has changed so much after I have opened to so many new things. I bet if I tell people around me the things I learnt they are going to roll their eyes at me. But I guess all our paths are different too and there is no right or wrong way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One thing I love about mysticism is that it cuts across all religious and spiritual paths– there are Christian mystics and Jewish mystics and Hindu mystics, etc etc. Often the mystics have been the secret side of the path, hidden minority the others scorned, even though they (the mystics) were the ones with the deepest personal experience of the divine. Others may take an intellectual or fundamentalist approach, but the mystic goes for the real deal. So, happy to see your post on mystics!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The awareness of your inner mysticism is endearing. As you are probably aware, we are all “mystics” somewhere in our make-up. Yet, some people deny their gifted insights due to their lack of understanding of their meaning.
    “Brave is the soul who ventures forward in times of adversity and confusion” is what I say.
    And you Sue, are a brave soul just beginning to shine your brilliance.
    Blessings 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts

