“Y” is for Year of Yes

Y is for Year of Yes

If you’re a fan of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal or How to Get Away with Murder you know Shonda Rhimes. She’s the creative genius behind the characters and story lines of these hit television shows. She’s also one of the most successful producers in television and she’s an introvert.

Shonda Collage

Last year, Shonda’s sister taunted her for never saying “yes” to invitations and social events. Consequently, Shonda made a pledge to herself – she declared a “Year of Yes” – and then wrote a book about it! She pledged to say “yes” for a full year to all the things that scare her, make her nervous and take her out of her comfort zone.

Shondra Rhimes

I can relate to Shonda. I’m an introvert too. And, like Shonda, I decided it was time to start saying “YES” to opportunities in my life. As a result I joined a wonderful writing community that meets weekly and I’m attending monthly writing workshops. And when I heard about the A to Z blogging challenge I said “YES” without hesitation (although the blogosphere is a great space for introverts). I enjoy people and socializing, but as an introvert I need time to recharge my batteries so I’m always striving for balance. Introvert Yin yang

During her, “Year of Yes” Shonda also conquered her fear of public speaking and was invited to give a TED Talk.
I’ve been inspired by Shonda’s willingness to step outside her comfort zone and live her “Year of Yes”.  I’m looking forward to more opportunities to say “YES”.
~Namaste
11 thoughts on ““Y” is for Year of Yes

  1. I used to watch Greys Anatomy all the time. Shonda Rimes is an awesome producer! I didn’t know she did a Ted talk. I’ll have to listen. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We travel similar roads, this way. I, too, am an introvert, yet have been answering a sort of call to move out into the world and community a bit more over the past year. And you’re right about balance, for I am quite easily burned out if I’m not careful. Love Shonda! Love Scandal!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dropping in from A to Z. Raising my hand as a fellow introvert. Thank you for sharing the Shonda and the Ted video. Very inspirational and makes you think. Now I want to read her book. I like the idea of saying Yes and where it takes us on unexpected journeys. Nice to meet you and hope you don’t mind as I meander through your blog. Congrats on a wonderful writing month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. It’s been a crazy month with the A to Z challenge but worth it! I’ve learned so much and met some amazing folks. I’ll stop by and check out your blog! Hugs.

      Like

Share your thoughts

