Monday Musing ~ Living Your Best Life

A Tree FramedWhat does it mean to live your best life? For many years, I didn’t give it much thought. I was too busy living my life in a chaotic, fast-paced, career-oriented way. All that changed in mid-life when I jumped off the career ladder and onto my spiritual path. After years of studying the wisdom traditions, I realized the phrase “Know Thyself” is an important concept if I wanted to live my best life. It requires an inward journey.

So, I did some soul searching and wrestled with the little monsters in my mind. I know that to live my best life I need to keep an open mind, live with an open heart, show compassion towards all and practice the art of Wu Wei.

Open Mind ~

Keeping an open mind allows me to hear other perspectives without judgment. It doesn’t mean I agree with everything I hear but I stay open to learning how others think, feel and view the world. Listening with an open mind requires that I give my full attention to another. Listening is an act of love.

CourageOpen Heart ~

Living with an open heart makes me vulnerable. Of course, I want to protect my heart from suffering, from rejection and heartbreak. But in protecting my heart I end up closing myself off from the world and others. I close my heart out of fear. Living with an open heart requires courage and a willingness to let go of past hurt through forgiveness and acceptance. Living with an open heart allows me to experience love and happiness and to share that love and happiness with others.

Life is an EchoCompassion ~ 

Showing compassion towards all is a reminder to live by the golden rule, treating others as I wish to be treated. I remind myself that we are all God’s creatures; no one is above or below the other. One of the most powerful spiritual lessons I’ve learned is that what I judge in others is a reflection of that which exists in me. I am also reminded that a simple act of kindness creates an endless ripple that you send out into the world.

Wu Wei ~

And finally, through the Taoist practice of Wu Wei, non-doing, non-reaction, I live in the flow of life. I focus on living in the present moment and accepting that I don’t have control over other people or events. My power lies in how I choose to react to the present moment. Typically, no action is required; acceptance is often the better course.

So there you have it, my recipe for living my best life. It’s taken me half a lifetime, some tough lessons and an inward journey to figure out what works for me.  What’s your recipe for living YOUR BEST LIFE? It’s never too early, or late, to ask yourself the question. I suspect you already have the answers if you’re willing to look within and “Know Thyself”.

Wishing you a magical Monday! ~ Namaste

 

5 thoughts on “Monday Musing ~ Living Your Best Life

Share your thoughts

