Monday Musing ~ THE CHASE

Chase Framed

They chase me as I walk along the trail. They try to run me off the road when I’m driving!  Lately, they creep into my garden while I’m tending my flowers. I’ve thought about telling them to leave me alone but I need them.

And so I’ve turned the tables and now I capture them.  I have several of them trapped in a press. They sit, simmering…waiting their turn – waiting to be released. I check on them often, watering them, some of them grow, others shrivel and die. The ones that grow get released. Sometimes I put two of them together and they thrive and morph into something quite unexpected.

I don’t mind them chasing me anymore. I’m ready for them; I’ve armed myself. I still have to pull off the road to capture them safely, but now I have the proper tools on hand. I have the devices needed to capture these wispy, fleeting, magical things. So what chases me? What do I desperately need to capture?

IDEAS!

I asked the universe to send me ideas and I may as well have cast a spell! Because now they won’t leave me alone! They’re everywhere! Pure magic!

“Ideas are disembodied, energetic life forms.” ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

I was reassured when I read those words in Elizabeth Gilbert’s book, Big Magic. She validated what I know to be true. Ideas are things, magical things. They seek us out – chase us, haunt us – if we’re open to receiving them. This part is important. If you don’t believe in magic you won’t experience it. This doesn’t mean you won’t have ideas, they’re just harder to come by and feel more like work.

The magic of the universe is effortless and fun. So let’s play a game of chase and see how many ideas you can capture today – tag, you’re it!

~ Namaste

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Monday Musing ~ THE CHASE

  1. The words you describe with are a lot more cheerful than the picture you chose. Artists are so fun! Those ideas chasing you down in the night, trying to drive you off the road into a tree…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. There are so many ideas flying around up here it is like the cottonwood tree’s white fluffballs floating in the air. Sometimes it gets so thick you can’t see. (or breathe). I think that is why I am so unfocused. Too busy catching those ideas, not enough time to finish. I never actually embodied them , but now all I can think of is the cave as the millions of bats emerge at dusk to roam the night.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

