Friday Features ~ I Am Another You

Mayan Greeting Final

I attended a lecture years ago on Our Shared Humanity. The speaker opened with a greeting, “Welcome, I am another you and you are another me.”  This ancient Mayan greeting, he explained, was used to express the interconnectedness of all things. The lecture focused on the common threads that bind us together and our ultimate “oneness”.

I am another you

In our human experience, he explained, we see everything as separate from ourselves. The “Others” are those who do not look like, dress like, think like or believe as we do.  We focus on those differences. We debate over who is right and who is wrong. We give energy to our separateness in an effort to strengthen our own ego. All too often we cultivate an environment of fear around the “otherness” of those not like us. The mere presence of the others is seen as threatening .

“And sometimes it’s the very otherness of a stranger, someone who doesn’t belong to our ethnic or ideological or religious group, an otherness that can repel us initially, but which can jerk us out of our habitual selfishness, and give us intonations of that sacred otherness, which is God.”
~ Karen Armstrong, Author & Scholar

And so I had a thought. What if we celebrated our common humanity? What if we held festivals and feasts to celebrate our love of family, friendship and our need of community? A festival where all Earthlings can be seen, heard, loved and respected and most of all – accepted.

A Festival of Earthlings

Earthlings DayJust as we celebrate “Earth Day”, with the mantra: Join the fight for the future of our planet.  I’d like to champion an “Earthlings Day”: Coming together with love for the future of all Earthlings.

I’ve often wondered if it will take aliens arriving from another planet to finally unite the human race. I hope that’s not the case. I can envision the aliens arrival as they descend from their spacecraft, extending their hand in friendship with the greeting, “I am another you, and you are another me.” 

Aliens Earth Bar Framed

Could it be that all those we see as “Others” are the sacred otherness which is God, as Karen Armstrong suggests? Could it be, that I am you – and you are me?

Sending love and light to my fellow earthlings. Have a magical weekend! ~ Namaste

9 thoughts on “Friday Features ~ I Am Another You

  1. In Lak’ech – yes! Have written some articles on this, over the years. And it gives one a lot to ponder. Yet I would invite those who would accept that invitation to go beyond the human race, embracing all sentient life as vessels through which Oneness flows. I don’t consider myself ‘better than’ the dogs or the trees, only differently abled, as earth life goes. Beyond that, we all dissolve back into the Oneness from which we emerged, to rejoin Creation in the eternal dance. At least that’s how energy keeps demonstrating itself to me, from quantum physics to observing nature in its myriad cycles of birth and death. Aloha, and thanks for another thought provoking post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

