Friday Features ~ Digital Deadwalkers

google image

google image

They wander aimlessly in circles and into one another, unable to lift their gaze from the small digital device.  Who are these digital deadwalkers? Is this the Zombie apocalypse– the end times?

Nope.

Welcome to the wireless digitized world of augmented reality (AR). Ok, maybe this is the zombie apocalypse… bwahaha!

I first heard the phrase “digital deadwalkers” in a commercial and laughed out loud. But recently the deadwalkers have amassed a new following. By the thousands, they are flocking to the streets, taking over parks and other public spaces. The deadwalkers are engaged in a new reality. They see things we don’t. They chase things we can’t see and engage in battles with invisible monsters.

Confession. I have joined their ranks.

I have officially become a digital deadwalker, fully immersed in AR and loving it – all in the name of research of course! My new zombie friends are fierce competitors, even if they’re only 12 years old!

If you’re still living in the analog world, or under a rock, you may have missed it, but look around your neighborhood and tell me what you see. Remember all those kids slumped over on the couch playing video games until the wee hours of the morning?  Yeah, those kids – pasty white, zombiesque from lack of sun – those kids are outside walking in search of …. wait for it….. drum roll ….. Pokémon!

You heard me right folks – what’s old is new again – welcome to POKEMON GO ! Free on both Android and iPhone. I hit level two on my first outing…just down the street from my house at the cemetery – spooky right?  Take two minutes and watch this video – mindblowing stuff – I kid you not!

I know many are skeptical of this new Pokémon phenomenon, but kids are getting up and moving. I’m all for a game that gets kids outside exploring their neighborhood with friends.  Something tells me our digital deadwalkers are gonna need sunscreen! Maybe there will be a new meme: digital healthwalkers!

It’s FRIDAY peeps – escape your cubicle and get outside!

(Warning: yes, this game sucks your battery and yes, it collects data…oh well)

8 thoughts on “Friday Features ~ Digital Deadwalkers

  1. This isn’t the first Augmented Reality Game, though. Niantic has had a game out since 2012 called “Ingress” based on the similar principals. Except for you’re not trying to catch Pokemon etc. You are a part of the Enlightened trying to push forth AI integration to further the human race, or you are a part of the Resistance trying to stop it because you believe it’ll be the end of human kind. Locations around town are Portals where you can gather supplies and intelligence. You have to take down the enemy if they have control over the portal. There are several other layers to the game but I won’t write a book here – I’ll just say, though, that unlike Pokemon, Ingress is really no fun if there aren’t any or aren’t many other players in your area. I had to stop playing when I moved to Alabama :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read about Ingress and make check that out. Although I live in a small town too I’ve been amazed at the number of people walking our local trail playing Pokemon! I think Pokemon’s 20 year history is part of Pokemon Go’s success. It’s exciting to think about the future possibilities of AR and VR. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I think that Pokemon’s history is certainly the deciding factor in popularity – as it stands even with Ingress’ wide popularity it’s definitely more of an “underground” thing. Well – at any rate, happy hunting – Gotta catch ’em all! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • haha! It’s so funny the experience you’re having with it – Where I am with myself and my friends we’re all anywhere from 24 – 40 and are playing. It’s to the point where even in my apartment complex I see several adults each evening slowly walking past my apartment with those green screen maps lol…. My actual apartment, for some reason, is a hot bed for Pokemon

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

