Monday Musing – Art & Life Class – Pen, Ink and Passion

The Old Man in Ink

The Old Man in Ink

I drew this picture of the old man in pen and ink several years ago and then lost track of it in one of my art portfolios.  When I happened upon it last year I decided to have it matted and framed. Now it hangs on the wall in my home as a reminder that I once knew how to work in pen and ink.  I loved working in ink, but it’s not a very forgiving medium and requires focus and patience.

“The marvel of the media is how an artist can skillfully use ink to create an image of great immediacy and life, balancing brightness and darkness, density and light, line and tone.” ~ Artist & Illustrators

Recently, I met an artist named Tom at a farmer’s market on Harstene Island in the Pacific Northwest. I was amazed by his work. I purchased the pen and ink print below after talking with him at length about his technique. He explained how every leaf was drawn specifically for the type of tree. It took him nearly a year to create this masterpiece. His enthusiasm was exhilarating. Talking with him and sharing his passion for art  inspired me to refill my inkwell!

Mabry Mill, VA by freehand Artist Tom Nichols

Mabry Mill, VA by freehand Artist Tom Nichols

Tom Nichols, Freehand Art Ink of Mabry Mill, VA

Tom Nichols, Freehand Art
Ink of Mabry Mill, VA

It is a gift, when you share your passion for life, art, whatever your craft, with the world and inspire others. I encourage you to share your passion with the world. Ancient wisdom tells us that what we send out into the world comes back to us – send your passion, your love, your creations out into the world and be ready to receive!

I love this quote:

“Life is an echo. What you send out comes back. What you sow you reap. What you give you get. What you see in others exists in you.”

Be mindful of what you send out into the world and have a fabulous week everyone!

7 thoughts on “Monday Musing – Art & Life Class – Pen, Ink and Passion

Share your thoughts

