Poetry ~ The Path

I wrote this poem in an 18th-century British voice because, honestly, that’s how it came to me. It’s the story of a young girl’s spiritual journey.  She seeks answers from the moon goddess. The moon goddess encourages her to trust the path; trust that life unfolds as intended.
The Path

nary, nary, I dare not tarry to find my own way home
through the wood and bramble berry, I walk this path alone

upon the stars, my eyes do linger
and to the moon, I stretch a finger

and call upon the goddess above
to light a path of truth and love

high aloft a zephyr blows
and the goddess speaks of all she knows

oh darling, darling, daring girl
who dares to step beyond her world

to truth and love each path does lead
each path a lesson in which to heed

walk in the knowing as life unfolds
each truth revealed, avows your soul

your mortal life, confined to seasons
live it fully, search not for reasons

march on dear girl, through wood and berry
trust the way, lest you tarry

Poetry By Sue

12 thoughts on “Poetry ~ The Path

  1. I remember having a dream once, from which I woke up speaking in what was definitely not modern lingo. I was a black woman in Missouri and my man had left me to go to Boston where he hoped to become a doctor. The fact that a different tongue existed deep in my consciousness led me to feel it was a past life. So I could imagine a poem emerging like that…

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a rather haunting feeling actually. Not scary but I do feel her presence. When this poem came through it wasn’t finished so it was a collaboration of sorts. I try to stay open to all the mysteries of the universe… keeps life interesting😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is amazing. It is about more than poetry, more than life, and more than the poet or poets. It’s all that in synergy, and more. A wonderful poem born of mystery, intrigue, and perhaps another world. Well done! (Both of you.)

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

