The Untethered Soul ~ Who Are You?

untethered-soul-3

“Ramana Maharshi, a great teacher in the yogic tradition, used to say that to attain inner freedom one must continuously and sincerely ask the question ‘Who am I?’ He taught that this was more important than reading books, learning mantras, or going to holy places. Just ask, “Who am I? Who sees when I see? Who hears when I hear? Who knows that I am aware? Who am I?” ~ Michael Singer

It’s the age-old question, isn’t it? Who am I? If you’ve been following along with the last few posts, you know you’re not the voices in your head. I will admit this is where it gets deep in Singer’s book, The Untethered Soul, but as we move into chapter three, it’s important to grasp the concept of our deeper consciousness; this is critical in establishing your spiritual foundation. Honestly, I can’t begin to explain it in a short blog post and even if you read Singer’s book on your own, be patient with yourself. It took me years before I could answer the question: Who am I? So, what I will attempt to do in this short summary of chapter three is plant a few seeds.

Okay, so we know we’re not the voices in our head. We also acknowledge that in our human experience we are many things and wear many labels:  male, female, mother, father, wife, husband, lawyer, doctor, artist, writer, gourmet cook, sports afficienado….you get the drift. But we’re going deeper here, beyond this human experience. In Chapter Three of The Untethered Soul, Singer provides his answer to the question “Who are you?”

“I am the one who sees, from back in here somewhere, I look out and I am aware of the events, thoughts, and emotions that pass before me.”

You may be asking why it’s important to answer this question in the first place and that’s valid. Let me answer from my own experience. I wanted to find peace of mind and to understand why I’m here. Those answers only came after years of seeking and several “ah-ha” moments along the path. So let me share my answers to the big three questions; your answers may be different and that’s fine. Trust your own path.

Who am I? I am spirit immersed in this human experience.

Why am I here? I am here to grow, to learn, to create.

Who are all of you? You are my teachers and my students. We are spirits, traveling through this earthly realm…learning, growing and creating together.

Again, these are my answers.  You may already have your own answers, but if not, be patient; when the student is ready the teacher arrives. Walk your path and if you’re so inclined, continue to follow me on a  journey through The Untethered Soul.

Next week: Chapter Four ~ The Lucid Self

~Namaste

 

4 thoughts on “The Untethered Soul ~ Who Are You?

  1. Your answers and clarifications were so helpful as I try to comprehend one of the more complex chapters in the book. I really love the depth of this chapter. Thank you, Sue

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

