Poetry: Never Was

I was inspired to write this poem after hearing the words, “I wanted so much for us.” The man saying those words was Albert Einstein as he cried and said goodbye to his two young sons and his wife as they boarded a train for Switzerland. The tears of the children, the wife, and Albert reminded me of a  time in my life many years ago; a tearful goodbye.

This poem is for all those who have suffered the loss of a dream, of a future that never was.

I wanted so much for us,
a future
that never came

a long life of love and laughter
that never was

I wanted so much for us,
children and memories made
photographs and scrapbooks

a life like our parents
or the life they portrayed

I wanted so much for us,
to grow old together on the porch
rocking in our chairs

to hold hands
as our eyes and hair turned gray

I wanted so much for us,
to say in those late years
ah, what a love we’ve shared”

I wanted so much for us,
that never was
and never came

8 thoughts on “Poetry: Never Was

Share your thoughts

