Poetry ~ Mistress of the Realm

Mystic Musing Sepia2

Art by Sue Viseth

Mistress of the Realm

I am the one who hangs the moon
and shifts the seas and sand.
I place the stars upon the sky,
they ‘light’ at my command.

I create the ‘other-worlds’
with mountains stretching tall
and deep upon the ocean floor
my mermaids come to call.

I fly upon the dragon’s back
breathing fire through the air
and land beyond my castle moor
~ enter if you dare!

I scatter seeds upon the ground
where forests grow anew.
I stretch and twist ~ distort my world
to suit my point of view.

I strike my wand upon my throne
and cast the tyrants out
one by one or all at once
their bones are tossed about.

And if by chance I have regrets
and wither from my plight
I conjure up a magic spell
and burn the cauldron bright!

I am the mistress of my realm
beyond this earthly sphere
a land of myth and magic
in which I disappear.

6 thoughts on “Poetry ~ Mistress of the Realm

Share your thoughts

