Poetry ~ Dangling Hearts

Like the cords of my headphones,
my heart is tangled in knots.

My fingers fumble
to unravel and untwist. 
Why must the knots persist?

With each tug, the knots tighten.
With each twist, more knots appear.

Knots of frustration,
anger,
sorrow,
and
fear.

I surrender.
Because I know to untangle,
I must let go of the knots
and
       allow
                my
                    heart
                              to
                                dangle…

6 thoughts on “Poetry ~ Dangling Hearts

  1. Sue! That is wonderful. Who could not relate to the symbolism of a tangled mess in life’s heartbreaking (dangling) challenges? Use of “surrender” and the graphic heart image attest to inspired talents.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

